As the wind and rain lashed against the side of his little fishing boat, Captain Michael Rush took shelter in the cabin, clutching a tattered copy of David Lewis’s Counterfactuals.

Amazing, he thought to himself, I have literally billions of counterparts. One of them might even be a talented philosopher…

                                                   

Many moons ago my good friend Dr Michael Rush told me about his delightfully inane project of writing one limerick for every day of the year (He did it too!). It was this fine gentleman that inspired my own project of one mini-saga for every day of the year, and today is his Birthday! So, this one’s for you Michael and, as a special treat, here’s a limerick in honour of the project that inspired my own:

                                         

Of all the world’s many bearded folk,

there’s one who’s an outstanding bloke.

His name’s Michael rush,

he makes the girls blush,

and that’s before he’s even spoke.

                                         

Happy Birthday Michael! I don’t know why, but I’ve always imagined you’d make an excellent sea Captain. In case you were wondering what your seafaring counterpart would look like, here he is wondering about you.

That’s all for today, see you all tomorrow. Pip pip!

8 responses »

  1. Michael says:

    Errr… thanks?

  2. Michael says:

    It’s like looking in a mirror though, I’ll give you that.

  3. Michael says:

    Seriously, it’s very flattering. The portrait and having been included. And the nod to the inspiration. I really must make that into the threatened book…

  4. Michael says:

    That would be excellent. And thanks again for this. I might order an orange jumper on the strength of that picture. I’m looking forward to about a million hits on my sadly neglected site now, too, with your highly polished promotional machine on my side!

    • Hah, don’t forget the captain’s hat too, I expect you to wear it to my Research Seminar talk next month!
      Also, I think most of my hits came from that post on your facebook wall today so its you’re popularity giving me hits rather than t’other way round!

  5. Michael says:

    The outpouring of deeply felt warmth and honest well-wishing was also an excellent advertising opportunity!

    And if you have a hat, I shall wear it.

Leave a Reply

