I’m a massive fan of Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, a webcomic by Zach Weiner (If you aren’t already a regular reader then get over there and check it out now! http://www.smbc-comics.com/). So, as it is a Saturday morning (or was when I started drawing this) I decided to try out a comic format today in a little homage to Zach. It’s still a mini-saga, there’s only 50 words there, it’s just a better format for this story I think.

Drawing comics takes so much time! Hats off to Monsieur Weiner (and all the other webcomic creators out there!) for managing to get them out so quickly and so well.

So, part of the mound of work I have at the moment is marking philosophy essays and we aren’t supposed to indicate what marks we are giving so that they can be re-jigged by the moderator if needs be  (yes, this was an actual conversation). So, to aid my never ending charge of procrastination, I decided to make up a code in which to write out the marks. It genuinely never occurred to me to just write in pencil! And I’m supposed to be getting a PhD am I?

Check out the system I devised below (if your interested in the creation of pointless encodings). In fact, feel free to make use of it yourself if you’re ever marking essays and you can’t find a pencil. I call it ‘monkey numbers. Enjoy!’

Pip pip!

5 responses »

  1. Michael says:

    Or, I don’t know, type them into the spreadsheet that contains a list of the same student numbers, in the same order, as the essays…

    Or buy some post-it notes.

  2. Natalie says:

    Sod the pencil and the spreadsheet, this keeps your brain going!

    In Chinese 1 = 一, 2 = 二, 3= 三。Did you know? Fairly obvious I guess, but I wonder if you would ever inadvertently write the other Chinese numbers in your future encodings…

    🙂

    • Hah, I knew about 1 and 2 being the same, I didn’t know the symbol for 3 though, just a happy accident that the alternate representation of 3 turned out to be the same! Yes it would be interesting to see if I stumble on any more Chinese symbols, I guess you’d be the person to try out the coding and see. Hope you enjoy the stories!

  3. […] I enjoyed writing my first mini-saga-comic (https://vonbandersnatch.wordpress.com/2012/03/10/monkey-and-penguin-window-instead-of-door/) the other day that I decided to write another one for today. I’m not going to lie, this took […]

Leave a Reply

